Boys Pandemic

The Boys Pandemic

In my travels in Africa, Middle East and Europe,  my most striking sociological observation was the thousands of young men (16-30) hanging out at street corners, markets or bus stations. There is an over 30% young male unemployment rate in Italy spain and Greece. In Canada,  this January 2022, there is a 15% unemployment rate among men in that age group. Young men are living at home in greater numbers in North America than ever in our nations history.  Young men drop out of high school in far greater numbers than women and 60% of college enrolments are women, while  only  40% are male.  What’s wrong with this picture?  imagine the spin-off. What hope do these males have in finding a mate and raising a family. Dating profile reads “Hi ladies, I’m a handsome unemployed high school dropout living in my mom’s basement. Care to take me out to dinner? ”  It’s not surprising  these young men commit suicide at  3x  the rate  of  employed men.  I explored some of the reasons for this in my Huffington Post article, Reading and Life Success. Read the section on the gender gap. I look at the effect of hours playing war games on computer,  among other issues. I’ve also added todays USA Today article that reminded me of my strong feelings about this issue.

1. Reading and Life Success

https://www.huffpost.com/archive/ca/entry/reading-and-life-success_b_16404148

2. Boys Falling  behind. USA Today 

https://www.usatoday.com/story/opinion/2021/10/09/boys-falling-behind-how-schools-must-change-help-young-males/5913463001/